LETTER TO A LEGEND:   MY EMAIL TO ANNE RICE ON RENOUNCING CHRISTIANITY 

A few days ago I decided to cruise by the website of one of my favorite authors, Anne Rice. I absolutely loved

Author Anne Rice, Living Legend

her historical novel “Feast of All Saints,” and was inspired by her lyrical, vivid writing of New Orleans and the rich, riveting tale she wove about the lively gens de couleur libres, otherwise known as the Creoles. Admittedly, I’ve never been into vampires, so I haven’t read any other book of hers, although I purchased “Christ The Lord” months ago and have every intention of reading it. When I heard Ms. Rice had regained her faith and was only going to write Christian novels, I was fascinated and even said a little prayer for her, asking God to keep her on the path, and then I moved on.

For some reason, I felt compelled to check in at annerice.com, see what was going on in her world, how her faith was holding up, and I was shocked to discover she had recently announced her renouncing of Christianity, while not renouncing Christ:

“For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today I quit being a Christian. I’m out. I remain committed to Christ as always but not to being “Christian” or to being part of Christianity. It’s simply impossible for me to “belong” to this quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group. For ten …years, I’ve tried. I’ve failed. I’m an outsider. My conscience will allow nothing else.”
07/28/10

Wow!  Spurred by impulse, I wrote an email to her, sharing my beliefs, and also sharing my understanding of the frustration she must feel with the lack of compassion and tolerance true Christians should have in loving the person, even if they don’t agree with the lifestyle or actions of their life.  It was a little less stark and more detailed than that, but you get the gist.

NO WAY IN THIS LIFETIME KID.

A best-selling author responding to my impulsive email?  Sure. Right. I didn’t expect a response.

ANNE RICE RESPONDS TO MY EMAIL

So imagine my shock the next day when I opened my email and saw her gmail account in my box. It took me a moment to really digest the fact that she had responded.  Double WOW.  Not only did she respond, she was gracious, complimented me on my heartfelt, “well-written letter,” and explained her views.  I was touched and awed and well, out of respect I won’t share all the details, but I must say, she’s a classy woman.  A woman who has sold over 100 million books worldwide.  ONE-HUNDRED MILLION BOOKS sold worldwide and she took the time out of her busy day to respond to my email.

Speechless.

I told her she was an inspiration and her book “Feast of All Saints,” has informed my manuscript “Eighth Wonder” invaluably.

I will frame the email and always be an Anne Rice fan. I didn’t write back because I didn’t want to become that crazed stalker character in Stephen King’s “Misery,” who pursued and kidnapped the author she loved.  LOL!

Here’s to Ms. Anne Rice.  Watch below as she shares her wisdom on writing.

